what a world! what a horrible world!
written @ 11:34 p.m. on August 19, 2003

I should've known. Too many good things have been going on in my life lately, why couldn't I have suspected that they would just come completely to a hault?

And why did it happen to my Dad?

He's at Arlington Hospital right now, as he has been since about 4:30 this evening. No, I'm not okay. He's been having problems, that he's given the name of Rheumatoid(sp) Arthritis. That's at least what he thought it was, but he recently went to the doctor, who thought it was a blood-clot, and told him to get to the hospital. That they'd be waiting for him at the Emergency room.

So, there I am, in Sterling, watching Milk Money while Steven's at a friend's house when he calls. I called Marie, told her that Dad was being admitted, she told me she'd get off of work right away and go find the hospital, that she'd call me as soon as she got there. I hung up, freaked the fuck out. I called Zack, who seemed peeved about something, and was a little bothered by the fact that he didn't do anything when I started crying on the phone (we worked it out, and I'm not bothered by it anymore. It's complicated...) then I called Mom, who told me not to overreact.

So. I can't see my Dad like I want to. My stepmom is probably rushing to the hospital. My boyfriend is pissed. And I feel like I can't talk to my Mom because she'll think I'm overreacting and looking too deeply into this.

Lois and Tori soon showed up, thank God, because Lois could tell how shaken up I was, though I wasn't letting any of it show. They went to eat at Ruby Tuesday's, then came back so I could come home while they stayed and watched Steven until Marie got home.

I finally got to talk to Zack on the drive home, I ended up bawling half the drive home (and on the Fairfax County Parkway at 6 o'clock at night, that's a long drive.) I quickly ditched the tears when I got to Braddock, knowing if Mom saw me crying she'd tell me "You have nothing to worry about" or "We get patients with blood clots all the time and we can fix those with no problem" and everything else she tells me when something goes wrong.

Yeah Mom, but what about my Grandfather. You know, the one with hardly any leg left because of blood clots?

Shut the fuck up.

I collapsed in Zack's arms when I finally saw him. It's been an exhausting day. I couldn't hold it in anymore. I ended up crying a few times tonight. And out of all the nights to get another nightmare when I'm with Zack, it was tonight.

I called the house when I was at Zack's to see if they'd gotten any word of what was going on. As it turned out, Marie had just called and filled Mom in. It wasn't a blood clot like they had suspected, but they knew that there was a lot of fluid in there. They were going to run a lot of tests and if anything major happened they'd call, or call just to keep us updated.

*sigh*

I need tomorrow to be quiet. Simple. Quiet. And short.

then|now

current
archives
profile
surveys
rings
random
cast
biography
quizzes cliques
email
g-book
notes
design
host