What are you doing up there?
written @ 6:26 a.m. on May 05, 2003

Yesterday was kind of rough. I spent seven hours standing at the register at A.C. Moore, but really, it wasn't all that bad.

I saw a little girl yesterday. I could tell the moment I saw her that she had cancer, her head was bald and it was obvious that it was natural (or, as natural as you get with cancer.) She had a little, very feint scar running down the side of her head, and she was pretty petite. I thought she was a boy at first, she was wearing all blue, but when I looked closer, it was a little kitten surrounded by hearts, that, and her mother called her Maddie and Madison. The women she was with were taking things out of the cart and putting them up onto the counter and she said something, but she was extremely quiet, so I leaned over to hear her.

"What are you doing up there?" She asked. I wasn't "up" anywhere, I was just standing, but I guess to a little kid I'm a giant.

"I'm helping people buy things that they like so they can take them home." I said. She nodded her head.

"What are they doing?" She asked, pointing to the women she was with.

"They're putting everything they want to buy on the counter, so then they can give me money and take everything home with them." I said.

It's heart breaking. Cancer has affected two people in my family, but I couldn't imagine it hurting Caitlin, or someone Caitlin's age.

I debated on whether or not to write about this last night, and last minute I decided to write about it.

It's hard to watch, sometimes, little kids being "really" sick. She was adorable, they're no denying that. She was sweet, I checked out a Blue's Clue's Handy Dandy notebook thing, then handed it to her and she said "Well thank you very much." It was adorable.

But as she left, I still felt bad. I hope, at some point, I can see her again.

then|now

current
archives
profile
surveys
rings
random
cast
biography
quizzes cliques
email
g-book
notes
design
host