when i'm ready
written @ 8:03 p.m. on June 02, 2003

Today was all right. The funeral for Barbara was gorgeous, and virtually everyone from Toys R Us was there, with the exception of a few who were still in high school.

The whole time all I could think about was Six Feet Under. My favorite show is about death and circles around it, and I watch it every weekend, but when it actually becomes a part of my life...it's like I don't know how to handle it. Which is comforting, at the same time. I don't want to "know" how to handle death, I want the deaths I deal with in my lifetime to be so few and far between that nothing else matters to me, you know?

Which makes me think about my own death. You know the scene in Titanic at the end of the movie when they show the old couple on the bed, and the old man is just holding the woman as water pours over them? (I know Meredith does.) That scene, that four seconds of film is so beautiful. I over-analyze things, we all know this. So it could come as no shock when I over analyze Titanic. Those two people have grown old together, lived a life of love together, and chose to die together. It's a horrible way to die, drowning (one of my biggest fears, actually) but to be able to die in the arms of the person you love...I envy that. I hope that I'm able to do that when it comes time for me to die.

My Mom is playing the piano...wow, that brings on a slew of memories I'm not ready to deal with just yet.

Great...now I'm in a weird mood. I'm calling Zack...

then|now

current
archives
profile
surveys
rings
random
cast
biography
quizzes cliques
email
g-book
notes
design
host